Privacy Policy


1. Data that we collect

We, Spelga Software Limited (the company that writes PhoneLog, PhoneLog Pro and PhoneLog for iPhone & iPad), do not collect any data when you use the apps. Any information you enter into the apps is not transmitted to or stored by us. It remains on the device unless you choose to sync it to another device - see section 6 below.

2. Sharing data with third parties

The apps use Crashlytics (www.crashlytics.com) to record details when they crash or have a serious error. We keep track of this so that we can debug why the app is having difficulties. No personal data (such as your name, email address etc) is recorded.

3. Data retention & deletion policy

Since no data is collected by us, there is no retention & deletion policy.

4. Access to your Contacts or Address book

So that PhoneLog can make your life easier when you are entering calls, there is a button to allow you to select a name and phone number from your address book without you having to re-type it. No information about your contacts is transmitted to or stored by us. When you start the app you may get a message requesting that you provide access to your contacts. If you decline, then this facility will not work but the rest of the app will behave normally.

5. Access to Calendar and Reminders

You can use PhoneLog to add entries into your Calendar or Reminders list, to record when you made a call or remind you to make a follow-up call. No information about your calendar appointments or reminders is transmitted to or stored by us. When you start the app you may get a message requesting that you provide access to your Reminders or Calendar. If you decline, then this facility will not work but the rest of the app will behave normally.

6. How your call log data is stored or transferred

A. Syncing

The following section describes how PhoneLog stores your data and transmits it between devices in the case of call logs that you have setup to sync:

Non-syncing Call Logs

The data you enter into PhoneLog is stored in a "Call Log" which is a file to which you give a filename when you first save or create it. On the Mac you also choose which folder to save it in, but on iPhones and iPads it will be saved in the Documents folder belonging to the app. No attempt is made to obfuscate or encrypt this data. Other people who have access to the file on whatever device you save it to may be able to open it and have access to the data inside it. If they do not have access to the PhoneLog application they may still be able to open this file using another application such as a file editor and extract your call data from it.

Syncing Call Logs

When you setup a call log to sync, then the call log is first moved from the location you originally saved it to, to a hidden folder within your Application Support folder. This is so the file is not accidentally moved, renamed or deleted. When it syncs, call data leaves your computer or device and is transmitted to other computers and devices. When it arrives at those other devices the data is saved in the same way as described above for non-syncing call logs.

If you choose to sync the call log using a shared folder, then the data is also stored on the shared folder that you choose. Similarly, if you choose to sync using Dropbox then the data is transmitted to the account you link with at Dropbox where it is stored in an app-specific subfolder called '/Apps/PhoneLog-SpelgaSoftware'. The data could be accessible by a third party at these locations if you have set up either the shared folder or your Dropbox account permissions to allow this.

To reduce the potential for leakage of your call data when syncing, PhoneLog encrypts your call data and only stores an encrypted version on the shared folder or on Dropbox. This should defeat casual observers, but will not defeat a determined hacker such as a large well-funded organisation. Some data such as the user's name, device name, device identifier and IP address of the syncing computer or device is not encrypted when it is stored at these locations, but the contents of the call log is.

In certain circumstances, to reduce syncing times, data is transmitted directly between two computers or devices on the same Local Area Network (LAN). In this case the call data is encrypted in the same fashion as described above.

No data is transmitted to Spelga Software — the syncing is performed using either the shared folder you specify or Dropbox's servers.

B. Backups

PhoneLog may be set up to store automatic or manual backups of your call logs to avoid accidental data loss.

On all iPhones and iPads, or on Macs if you are using the "Backup" mechanism, please note that when you delete a call log the backups are not automatically deleted too. In this case use the "Clean up" button to delete backups for which no owning call log can be found.